aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorThomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>2017-03-14 10:05:07 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2017-03-16 09:06:35 +0100
commit69218e47994da614e7af600bf06887750ab6657a (patch)
treec1399085e63a1b42cda253a73a0d33b1e84cb864 /arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
parentf06bdd4001c257792c54dce9427399f2896470af (diff)
x86: Remap GDT tables in the fixmap section
Each processor holds a GDT in its per-cpu structure. The sgdt instruction gives the base address of the current GDT. This address can be used to bypass KASLR memory randomization. With another bug, an attacker could target other per-cpu structures or deduce the base of the main memory section (PAGE_OFFSET). This patch relocates the GDT table for each processor inside the fixmap section. The space is reserved based on number of supported processors. For consistency, the remapping is done by default on 32 and 64-bit. Each processor switches to its remapped GDT at the end of initialization. For hibernation, the main processor returns with the original GDT and switches back to the remapping at completion. This patch was tested on both architectures. Hibernation and KVM were both tested specially for their usage of the GDT. Thanks to Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> for testing and recommending changes for Xen support. Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com> Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de> Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk> Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jikos@kernel.org> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com> Cc: Luis R . Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org> Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com> Cc: Rafael J . Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com> Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org Cc: lguest@lists.ozlabs.org Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org Cc: xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org Cc: zijun_hu <zijun_hu@htc.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170314170508.100882-2-thgarnie@google.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
index cef39b097649..950071171436 100644
--- a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
+++ b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
@@ -68,7 +68,7 @@ pgd_t * __init efi_call_phys_prolog(void)
load_cr3(initial_page_table);
__flush_tlb_all();
- gdt_descr.address = __pa(get_cpu_gdt_table(0));
+ gdt_descr.address = __pa(get_cpu_gdt_rw(0));
gdt_descr.size = GDT_SIZE - 1;
load_gdt(&gdt_descr);
@@ -79,7 +79,7 @@ void __init efi_call_phys_epilog(pgd_t *save_pgd)
{
struct desc_ptr gdt_descr;
- gdt_descr.address = (unsigned long)get_cpu_gdt_table(0);
+ gdt_descr.address = (unsigned long)get_cpu_gdt_rw(0);
gdt_descr.size = GDT_SIZE - 1;
load_gdt(&gdt_descr);

Privacy Policy