aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSai Praneeth <sai.praneeth.prakhya@intel.com>2016-02-17 12:36:05 +0000
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2016-02-22 08:26:28 +0100
commit6d0cc887d571e96f928be83f094322451fd4bf6f (patch)
treeaf95903a3edbced1cf8422b8b602f02ce4503f9b /arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
parent15f003d20782a4079e078d16df57081ebd1fc150 (diff)
x86/efi: Map EFI_MEMORY_{XP,RO} memory region bits to EFI page tables
Now that we have EFI memory region bits that indicate which regions do not need execute permission or read/write permission in the page tables, let's use them. We also check for EFI_NX_PE_DATA and only enforce the restrictive mappings if it's present (to allow us to ignore buggy firmware that sets bits it didn't mean to and to preserve backwards compatibility). Instead of assuming that firmware would set appropriate attributes in memory descriptor like EFI_MEMORY_RO for code and EFI_MEMORY_XP for data, we can expect some firmware out there which might only set *type* in memory descriptor to be EFI_RUNTIME_SERVICES_CODE or EFI_RUNTIME_SERVICES_DATA leaving away attribute. This will lead to improper mappings of EFI runtime regions. In order to avoid it, we check attribute and type of memory descriptor to update mappings and moreover Windows works this way. Signed-off-by: Sai Praneeth Prakhya <sai.praneeth.prakhya@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com> Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Cc: Lee, Chun-Yi <jlee@suse.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@suse.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ravi Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com> Cc: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri@intel.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com> Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1455712566-16727-13-git-send-email-matt@codeblueprint.co.uk Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
index 58d669bc8250..338402b91d2e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
+++ b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_32.c
@@ -90,7 +90,7 @@ void __init efi_call_phys_epilog(pgd_t *save_pgd)
__flush_tlb_all();
}
-void __init efi_runtime_mkexec(void)
+void __init efi_runtime_update_mappings(void)
{
if (__supported_pte_mask & _PAGE_NX)
runtime_code_page_mkexec();

Privacy Policy