aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-12 06:29:56 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 17:04:01 (GMT)
commit0240dfd5b4de79980a484cef8ddf0d52d52bce40 (patch)
tree27ebaae6f297fd16e18ba2f4eea866c273a6423a /arch
parent9415673e3e19f76b1b83be2bc8844bdeff87a05d (diff)
arch: don't memset(0) memory returned by memblock_alloc()
memblock_alloc() already clears the allocated memory, no point in doing it twice. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-14-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k] Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/c6x/mm/init.c1
-rw-r--r--arch/h8300/mm/init.c1
-rw-r--r--arch/ia64/kernel/mca.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/m68k/mm/mcfmmu.c1
-rw-r--r--arch/microblaze/mm/init.c6
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c2
6 files changed, 2 insertions, 11 deletions
diff --git a/arch/c6x/mm/init.c b/arch/c6x/mm/init.c
index af5ada0..e83c046 100644
--- a/arch/c6x/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/c6x/mm/init.c
@@ -40,7 +40,6 @@ void __init paging_init(void)
empty_zero_page = (unsigned long) memblock_alloc(PAGE_SIZE,
PAGE_SIZE);
- memset((void *)empty_zero_page, 0, PAGE_SIZE);
/*
* Set up user data space
diff --git a/arch/h8300/mm/init.c b/arch/h8300/mm/init.c
index 6519252..a157890 100644
--- a/arch/h8300/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/h8300/mm/init.c
@@ -68,7 +68,6 @@ void __init paging_init(void)
* to a couple of allocated pages.
*/
empty_zero_page = (unsigned long)memblock_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
- memset((void *)empty_zero_page, 0, PAGE_SIZE);
/*
* Set up SFC/DFC registers (user data space).
diff --git a/arch/ia64/kernel/mca.c b/arch/ia64/kernel/mca.c
index 74d148b..370bc34 100644
--- a/arch/ia64/kernel/mca.c
+++ b/arch/ia64/kernel/mca.c
@@ -400,8 +400,6 @@ ia64_log_init(int sal_info_type)
// set up OS data structures to hold error info
IA64_LOG_ALLOCATE(sal_info_type, max_size);
- memset(IA64_LOG_CURR_BUFFER(sal_info_type), 0, max_size);
- memset(IA64_LOG_NEXT_BUFFER(sal_info_type), 0, max_size);
}
/*
diff --git a/arch/m68k/mm/mcfmmu.c b/arch/m68k/mm/mcfmmu.c
index 0de4999..492f953 100644
--- a/arch/m68k/mm/mcfmmu.c
+++ b/arch/m68k/mm/mcfmmu.c
@@ -44,7 +44,6 @@ void __init paging_init(void)
int i;
empty_zero_page = (void *) memblock_alloc(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
- memset((void *) empty_zero_page, 0, PAGE_SIZE);
pg_dir = swapper_pg_dir;
memset(swapper_pg_dir, 0, sizeof(swapper_pg_dir));
diff --git a/arch/microblaze/mm/init.c b/arch/microblaze/mm/init.c
index 44f4b89..bd1cd4b 100644
--- a/arch/microblaze/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/microblaze/mm/init.c
@@ -376,10 +376,8 @@ void * __ref zalloc_maybe_bootmem(size_t size, gfp_t mask)
if (mem_init_done)
p = kzalloc(size, mask);
- else {
+ else
p = memblock_alloc(size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
- if (p)
- memset(p, 0, size);
- }
+
return p;
}
diff --git a/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c b/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c
index 38940af..e7126ca 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c
@@ -33,8 +33,6 @@ void * __init prom_early_alloc(unsigned long size)
void *ret;
ret = memblock_alloc(size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
- if (ret != NULL)
- memset(ret, 0, size);
prom_early_allocated += size;

Privacy Policy