aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-12 06:29:35 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 17:04:01 (GMT)
commit0ba9e6edd4c2e563a9b34c8a46649218814a363f (patch)
tree2a7ee3418209e2eb310d180d470d3663e128e143 /arch
parent42b46aeff2e366bad54bd1c069b7b5381d9be8b3 (diff)
memblock: drop memblock_alloc_base()
The memblock_alloc_base() function tries to allocate a memory up to the limit specified by its max_addr parameter and panics if the allocation fails. Replace its usage with memblock_phys_alloc_range() and make the callers check the return value and panic in case of error. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-10-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> [powerpc] Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/kernel/rtas.c6
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/mm/hash_utils_64.c8
-rw-r--r--arch/s390/kernel/smp.c6
3 files changed, 16 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/kernel/rtas.c b/arch/powerpc/kernel/rtas.c
index de35bd8f..fbc6761 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/kernel/rtas.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/kernel/rtas.c
@@ -1187,7 +1187,11 @@ void __init rtas_initialize(void)
ibm_suspend_me_token = rtas_token("ibm,suspend-me");
}
#endif
- rtas_rmo_buf = memblock_alloc_base(RTAS_RMOBUF_MAX, PAGE_SIZE, rtas_region);
+ rtas_rmo_buf = memblock_phys_alloc_range(RTAS_RMOBUF_MAX, PAGE_SIZE,
+ 0, rtas_region);
+ if (!rtas_rmo_buf)
+ panic("ERROR: RTAS: Failed to allocate %lx bytes below %pa\n",
+ PAGE_SIZE, &rtas_region);
#ifdef CONFIG_RTAS_ERROR_LOGGING
rtas_last_error_token = rtas_token("rtas-last-error");
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/mm/hash_utils_64.c b/arch/powerpc/mm/hash_utils_64.c
index 3d4b239..880a366 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/mm/hash_utils_64.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/mm/hash_utils_64.c
@@ -882,8 +882,12 @@ static void __init htab_initialize(void)
}
#endif /* CONFIG_PPC_CELL */
- table = memblock_alloc_base(htab_size_bytes, htab_size_bytes,
- limit);
+ table = memblock_phys_alloc_range(htab_size_bytes,
+ htab_size_bytes,
+ 0, limit);
+ if (!table)
+ panic("ERROR: Failed to allocate %pa bytes below %pa\n",
+ &htab_size_bytes, &limit);
DBG("Hash table allocated at %lx, size: %lx\n", table,
htab_size_bytes);
diff --git a/arch/s390/kernel/smp.c b/arch/s390/kernel/smp.c
index b198ece..5e3cccc 100644
--- a/arch/s390/kernel/smp.c
+++ b/arch/s390/kernel/smp.c
@@ -656,7 +656,11 @@ void __init smp_save_dump_cpus(void)
/* No previous system present, normal boot. */
return;
/* Allocate a page as dumping area for the store status sigps */
- page = memblock_alloc_base(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE, 1UL << 31);
+ page = memblock_phys_alloc_range(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE, 0, 1UL << 31);
+ if (!page)
+ panic("ERROR: Failed to allocate %x bytes below %lx\n",
+ PAGE_SIZE, 1UL << 31);
+
/* Set multi-threading state to the previous system. */
pcpu_set_smt(sclp.mtid_prev);
boot_cpu_addr = stap();

Privacy Policy