aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-12 06:30:42 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 17:04:02 (GMT)
commit26fb3dae0a1ec78bdde4b5b72e0e709503e8c596 (patch)
tree2179b20e2d8552352f0d4bb8a1598a2340d22bef /arch
parentc0dbe825a9f11d68725b01b9ed311f7c44ca9166 (diff)
memblock: drop memblock_alloc_*_nopanic() variants
As all the memblock allocation functions return NULL in case of error rather than panic(), the duplicates with _nopanic suffix can be removed. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-22-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Reviewed-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> [printk] Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/arc/kernel/unwind.c3
-rw-r--r--arch/sh/mm/init.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c10
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/kasan_init_64.c14
4 files changed, 15 insertions, 14 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arc/kernel/unwind.c b/arch/arc/kernel/unwind.c
index d34f69e..271e9fa 100644
--- a/arch/arc/kernel/unwind.c
+++ b/arch/arc/kernel/unwind.c
@@ -181,8 +181,7 @@ static void init_unwind_hdr(struct unwind_table *table,
*/
static void *__init unw_hdr_alloc_early(unsigned long sz)
{
- return memblock_alloc_from_nopanic(sz, sizeof(unsigned int),
- MAX_DMA_ADDRESS);
+ return memblock_alloc_from(sz, sizeof(unsigned int), MAX_DMA_ADDRESS);
}
static void *unw_hdr_alloc(unsigned long sz)
diff --git a/arch/sh/mm/init.c b/arch/sh/mm/init.c
index fceefd9..7062132 100644
--- a/arch/sh/mm/init.c
+++ b/arch/sh/mm/init.c
@@ -202,7 +202,7 @@ void __init allocate_pgdat(unsigned int nid)
get_pfn_range_for_nid(nid, &start_pfn, &end_pfn);
#ifdef CONFIG_NEED_MULTIPLE_NODES
- NODE_DATA(nid) = memblock_alloc_try_nid_nopanic(
+ NODE_DATA(nid) = memblock_alloc_try_nid(
sizeof(struct pglist_data),
SMP_CACHE_BYTES, MEMBLOCK_LOW_LIMIT,
MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE, nid);
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c b/arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c
index 13af088..4bf4657 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/setup_percpu.c
@@ -106,22 +106,22 @@ static void * __init pcpu_alloc_bootmem(unsigned int cpu, unsigned long size,
void *ptr;
if (!node_online(node) || !NODE_DATA(node)) {
- ptr = memblock_alloc_from_nopanic(size, align, goal);
+ ptr = memblock_alloc_from(size, align, goal);
pr_info("cpu %d has no node %d or node-local memory\n",
cpu, node);
pr_debug("per cpu data for cpu%d %lu bytes at %016lx\n",
cpu, size, __pa(ptr));
} else {
- ptr = memblock_alloc_try_nid_nopanic(size, align, goal,
- MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE,
- node);
+ ptr = memblock_alloc_try_nid(size, align, goal,
+ MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE,
+ node);
pr_debug("per cpu data for cpu%d %lu bytes on node%d at %016lx\n",
cpu, size, node, __pa(ptr));
}
return ptr;
#else
- return memblock_alloc_from_nopanic(size, align, goal);
+ return memblock_alloc_from(size, align, goal);
#endif
}
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/kasan_init_64.c b/arch/x86/mm/kasan_init_64.c
index 462fde8..8dc0fc0 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/kasan_init_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/kasan_init_64.c
@@ -24,14 +24,16 @@ extern struct range pfn_mapped[E820_MAX_ENTRIES];
static p4d_t tmp_p4d_table[MAX_PTRS_PER_P4D] __initdata __aligned(PAGE_SIZE);
-static __init void *early_alloc(size_t size, int nid, bool panic)
+static __init void *early_alloc(size_t size, int nid, bool should_panic)
{
- if (panic)
- return memblock_alloc_try_nid(size, size,
- __pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS), MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE, nid);
- else
- return memblock_alloc_try_nid_nopanic(size, size,
+ void *ptr = memblock_alloc_try_nid(size, size,
__pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS), MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE, nid);
+
+ if (!ptr && should_panic)
+ panic("%pS: Failed to allocate page, nid=%d from=%lx\n",
+ (void *)_RET_IP_, nid, __pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS));
+
+ return ptr;
}
static void __init kasan_populate_pmd(pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr,

Privacy Policy