aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-12 06:29:21 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 17:04:01 (GMT)
commit337555744e6e39dd1d87698c6084dd88a606d60a (patch)
treedf1546ace823e999842c1edc53d998e63636814d /arch
parent8a770c2a83eaf4c3d493ca4056abd6d6ddce6f18 (diff)
memblock: memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(): don't panic
The memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid() function tries to allocate memory from the requested node and then falls back to allocation from any node in the system. The memblock_alloc_base() fallback used by this function panics if the allocation fails. Replace the memblock_alloc_base() fallback with the direct call to memblock_alloc_range_nid() and update the memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid() callers to check the returned value and panic in case of error. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-7-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> [powerpc] Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/mm/numa.c4
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c4
2 files changed, 8 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c b/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
index 7a0a555..06a6f26 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/numa.c
@@ -237,6 +237,10 @@ static void __init setup_node_data(int nid, u64 start_pfn, u64 end_pfn)
pr_info("Initmem setup node %d [<memory-less node>]\n", nid);
nd_pa = memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(nd_size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
+ if (!nd_pa)
+ panic("Cannot allocate %zu bytes for node %d data\n",
+ nd_size, nid);
+
nd = __va(nd_pa);
/* report and initialize */
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c b/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
index ac49e41..f976676 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
@@ -788,6 +788,10 @@ static void __init setup_node_data(int nid, u64 start_pfn, u64 end_pfn)
int tnid;
nd_pa = memblock_phys_alloc_try_nid(nd_size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES, nid);
+ if (!nd_pa)
+ panic("Cannot allocate %zu bytes for node %d data\n",
+ nd_size, nid);
+
nd = __va(nd_pa);
/* report and initialize */

Privacy Policy