aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/arch
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-12 06:30:10 (GMT)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 17:04:02 (GMT)
commitb1e1c869ffd1d8e84beb9d9ee4adc3507d8843d5 (patch)
tree8abb1dd2458b4b5f1d18df005728dd1504514e45 /arch
parentd80db5c1ed8ddcb836766adfe773b6a6768df831 (diff)
sparc: add checks for the return value of memblock_alloc*()
Add panic() calls if memblock_alloc*() returns NULL. Most of the changes are simply addition of if(!ptr) panic(); statements after the calls to memblock_alloc*() variants. Exceptions are pcpu_populate_pte() and kernel_map_range() that were slightly refactored to accommodate the change. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-16-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch')
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/kernel/setup_64.c6
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/kernel/smp_64.c12
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c11
-rw-r--r--arch/sparc/mm/srmmu.c8
5 files changed, 39 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c b/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c
index e7126ca..869b16c 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/kernel/prom_32.c
@@ -33,6 +33,8 @@ void * __init prom_early_alloc(unsigned long size)
void *ret;
ret = memblock_alloc(size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ if (!ret)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes\n", __func__, size);
prom_early_allocated += size;
diff --git a/arch/sparc/kernel/setup_64.c b/arch/sparc/kernel/setup_64.c
index 51c4d12..fd2182a 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/kernel/setup_64.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/kernel/setup_64.c
@@ -624,8 +624,14 @@ void __init alloc_irqstack_bootmem(void)
softirq_stack[i] = memblock_alloc_node(THREAD_SIZE,
THREAD_SIZE, node);
+ if (!softirq_stack[i])
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=%lx nid=%d\n",
+ __func__, THREAD_SIZE, THREAD_SIZE, node);
hardirq_stack[i] = memblock_alloc_node(THREAD_SIZE,
THREAD_SIZE, node);
+ if (!hardirq_stack[i])
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=%lx nid=%d\n",
+ __func__, THREAD_SIZE, THREAD_SIZE, node);
}
}
diff --git a/arch/sparc/kernel/smp_64.c b/arch/sparc/kernel/smp_64.c
index f45d876..a8275fe 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/kernel/smp_64.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/kernel/smp_64.c
@@ -1628,6 +1628,8 @@ static void __init pcpu_populate_pte(unsigned long addr)
pud_t *new;
new = memblock_alloc_from(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
+ if (!new)
+ goto err_alloc;
pgd_populate(&init_mm, pgd, new);
}
@@ -1636,6 +1638,8 @@ static void __init pcpu_populate_pte(unsigned long addr)
pmd_t *new;
new = memblock_alloc_from(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
+ if (!new)
+ goto err_alloc;
pud_populate(&init_mm, pud, new);
}
@@ -1644,8 +1648,16 @@ static void __init pcpu_populate_pte(unsigned long addr)
pte_t *new;
new = memblock_alloc_from(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
+ if (!new)
+ goto err_alloc;
pmd_populate_kernel(&init_mm, pmd, new);
}
+
+ return;
+
+err_alloc:
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=%lx from=%lx\n",
+ __func__, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
}
void __init setup_per_cpu_areas(void)
diff --git a/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c b/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
index ef340e8..f2d70ff 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/mm/init_64.c
@@ -1809,6 +1809,8 @@ static unsigned long __ref kernel_map_range(unsigned long pstart,
new = memblock_alloc_from(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE,
PAGE_SIZE);
+ if (!new)
+ goto err_alloc;
alloc_bytes += PAGE_SIZE;
pgd_populate(&init_mm, pgd, new);
}
@@ -1822,6 +1824,8 @@ static unsigned long __ref kernel_map_range(unsigned long pstart,
}
new = memblock_alloc_from(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE,
PAGE_SIZE);
+ if (!new)
+ goto err_alloc;
alloc_bytes += PAGE_SIZE;
pud_populate(&init_mm, pud, new);
}
@@ -1836,6 +1840,8 @@ static unsigned long __ref kernel_map_range(unsigned long pstart,
}
new = memblock_alloc_from(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE,
PAGE_SIZE);
+ if (!new)
+ goto err_alloc;
alloc_bytes += PAGE_SIZE;
pmd_populate_kernel(&init_mm, pmd, new);
}
@@ -1855,6 +1861,11 @@ static unsigned long __ref kernel_map_range(unsigned long pstart,
}
return alloc_bytes;
+
+err_alloc:
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=%lx from=%lx\n",
+ __func__, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);
+ return -ENOMEM;
}
static void __init flush_all_kernel_tsbs(void)
diff --git a/arch/sparc/mm/srmmu.c b/arch/sparc/mm/srmmu.c
index a400ec3..aaebbc0 100644
--- a/arch/sparc/mm/srmmu.c
+++ b/arch/sparc/mm/srmmu.c
@@ -305,11 +305,17 @@ static void __init srmmu_nocache_init(void)
srmmu_nocache_pool = memblock_alloc(srmmu_nocache_size,
SRMMU_NOCACHE_ALIGN_MAX);
+ if (!srmmu_nocache_pool)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=0x%x\n",
+ __func__, srmmu_nocache_size, SRMMU_NOCACHE_ALIGN_MAX);
memset(srmmu_nocache_pool, 0, srmmu_nocache_size);
srmmu_nocache_bitmap =
memblock_alloc(BITS_TO_LONGS(bitmap_bits) * sizeof(long),
SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ if (!srmmu_nocache_bitmap)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %zu bytes\n", __func__,
+ BITS_TO_LONGS(bitmap_bits) * sizeof(long));
bit_map_init(&srmmu_nocache_map, srmmu_nocache_bitmap, bitmap_bits);
srmmu_swapper_pg_dir = __srmmu_get_nocache(SRMMU_PGD_TABLE_SIZE, SRMMU_PGD_TABLE_SIZE);
@@ -468,6 +474,8 @@ static void __init sparc_context_init(int numctx)
size = numctx * sizeof(struct ctx_list);
ctx_list_pool = memblock_alloc(size, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ if (!ctx_list_pool)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes\n", __func__, size);
for (ctx = 0; ctx < numctx; ctx++) {
struct ctx_list *clist;

Privacy Policy