aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel/Kconfig.locks
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>2014-06-06 19:53:16 +0200
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2014-07-16 14:57:07 +0200
commit4badad352a6bb202ec68afa7a574c0bb961e5ebc (patch)
tree924924c9be5f6e4f939f8d1f78f7debeca0eb661 /kernel/Kconfig.locks
parentce069fc920e5734558b3d9cbef1ab06cf01ee793 (diff)
locking/mutex: Disable optimistic spinning on some architectures
The optimistic spin code assumes regular stores and cmpxchg() play nice; this is found to not be true for at least: parisc, sparc32, tile32, metag-lock1, arc-!llsc and hexagon. There is further wreckage, but this in particular seemed easy to trigger, so blacklist this. Opt in for known good archs. Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Reported-by: Mikulas Patocka <mpatocka@redhat.com> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@hansenpartnership.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Jason Low <jason.low2@hp.com> Cc: Waiman Long <waiman.long@hp.com> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: John David Anglin <dave.anglin@bell.net> Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20140606175316.GV13930@laptop.programming.kicks-ass.net Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/Kconfig.locks')
-rw-r--r--kernel/Kconfig.locks5
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/Kconfig.locks b/kernel/Kconfig.locks
index 35536d9c0964..81907941d921 100644
--- a/kernel/Kconfig.locks
+++ b/kernel/Kconfig.locks
@@ -220,9 +220,12 @@ config INLINE_WRITE_UNLOCK_IRQRESTORE
endif
+config ARCH_SUPPORTS_ATOMIC_RMW
+ bool
+
config MUTEX_SPIN_ON_OWNER
def_bool y
- depends on SMP && !DEBUG_MUTEXES
+ depends on SMP && !DEBUG_MUTEXES && ARCH_SUPPORTS_ATOMIC_RMW
config ARCH_USE_QUEUE_RWLOCK
bool

Privacy Policy