aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel/groups.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>2017-05-08 15:57:44 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-05-08 17:15:13 -0700
commit19809c2da28aee5860ad9a2eff760730a0710df0 (patch)
tree19c6c68f96d55ea25b71040a448c6890301a19f6 /kernel/groups.c
parent54f180d3c181277457fb003dd9524c2aa1ef8160 (diff)
mm, vmalloc: use __GFP_HIGHMEM implicitly
__vmalloc* allows users to provide gfp flags for the underlying allocation. This API is quite popular $ git grep "=[[:space:]]__vmalloc\|return[[:space:]]*__vmalloc" | wc -l 77 The only problem is that many people are not aware that they really want to give __GFP_HIGHMEM along with other flags because there is really no reason to consume precious lowmemory on CONFIG_HIGHMEM systems for pages which are mapped to the kernel vmalloc space. About half of users don't use this flag, though. This signals that we make the API unnecessarily too complex. This patch simply uses __GFP_HIGHMEM implicitly when allocating pages to be mapped to the vmalloc space. Current users which add __GFP_HIGHMEM are simplified and drop the flag. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170307141020.29107-1-mhocko@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Reviewed-by: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Cristopher Lameter <cl@linux.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/groups.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/groups.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/groups.c b/kernel/groups.c
index 8dd7a61b7115..d09727692a2a 100644
--- a/kernel/groups.c
+++ b/kernel/groups.c
@@ -18,7 +18,7 @@ struct group_info *groups_alloc(int gidsetsize)
len = sizeof(struct group_info) + sizeof(kgid_t) * gidsetsize;
gi = kmalloc(len, GFP_KERNEL_ACCOUNT|__GFP_NOWARN|__GFP_NORETRY);
if (!gi)
- gi = __vmalloc(len, GFP_KERNEL_ACCOUNT|__GFP_HIGHMEM, PAGE_KERNEL);
+ gi = __vmalloc(len, GFP_KERNEL_ACCOUNT, PAGE_KERNEL);
if (!gi)
return NULL;

Privacy Policy