path: root/kernel/groups.c
diff options
authorHuang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>2017-05-08 15:57:40 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2017-05-08 17:15:13 -0700
commit54f180d3c181277457fb003dd9524c2aa1ef8160 (patch)
treefc763d5c91a4b0c0dfe5f4a6d594dd768866074f /kernel/groups.c
parentbc4e54f6e966e9ca35064cd60f91b1478c07a1b2 (diff)
mm, swap: use kvzalloc to allocate some swap data structures
Now vzalloc() is used in swap code to allocate various data structures, such as swap cache, swap slots cache, cluster info, etc. Because the size may be too large on some system, so that normal kzalloc() may fail. But using kzalloc() has some advantages, for example, less memory fragmentation, less TLB pressure, etc. So change the data structure allocation in swap code to use kvzalloc() which will try kzalloc() firstly, and fallback to vzalloc() if kzalloc() failed. In general, although kmalloc() will reduce the number of high-order pages in short term, vmalloc() will cause more pain for memory fragmentation in the long term. And the swap data structure allocation that is changed in this patch is expected to be long term allocation. From Dave Hansen: "for example, we have a two-page data structure. vmalloc() takes two effectively random order-0 pages, probably from two different 2M pages and pins them. That "kills" two 2M pages. kmalloc(), allocating two *contiguous* pages, will not cross a 2M boundary. That means it will only "kill" the possibility of a single 2M page. More 2M pages == less fragmentation. The allocation in this patch occurs during swap on time, which is usually done during system boot, so usually we have high opportunity to allocate the contiguous pages successfully. The allocation for swap_map[] in struct swap_info_struct is not changed, because that is usually quite large and vmalloc_to_page() is used for it. That makes it a little harder to change. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170407064911.25447-1-ying.huang@intel.com Signed-off-by: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Acked-by: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@intel.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@kernel.org> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/groups.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions

Privacy Policy